Quantity over quality

Go down

Quantity over quality

Post  ??? Profit! on Tue Aug 25, 2009 7:27 am

I was just thinking about the fact that mapping and scripting takes less time than making graphics so I thought about the keeping the game style as simple as possible, but still reasonably pretty, to make it easier to do a lot of art...

Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past

The style is called clean-cut which basically means very limited texturing, more like hinting about the material of the surface... Looks nice and is fairly simple to do. So more people are able to contribute. The key of success is a consistent style. Smile

Ok, here is an example of a more complex style of pixel art. It requires a good knowledge about things like how light behaves and texturing. You shouldn't be a complete beginner if attempting to do this and making the art takes a lot longer.

It is not like the game will look as good as that if the take this route.

Last edited by ??? Profit! on Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:25 am; edited 1 time in total

??? Profit!

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Quantity over quality

Post  KaoroSorane on Tue Aug 25, 2009 9:15 am

I see your point...

What I think about this is that we should have the best graphics we can using the easiest way for drawing them. Of course, talking is easy, it seems hard to associate the two, but if we were able to render good textures in an easy fashion, that would be pretty cool.

We'd need an easy-to-use, open-source drawing software.

It just occured me, why don't we use Vectorial graphics?
I mean, they load faster on the screen, are very easy to use and even basic textures look good on it.
Also, even if two different people create graphics for the game without a reference, their works will still match (what probably wouldn't happen with pixel art) as if they were made together.

Well, that's just my idea, the decision should come from the group. (from DeviantArt)